1. Welcome to For Trucks Only !

    We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

    Dismiss Notice

1990 D150 questions

Discussion in 'General Dodge Truck Discussions' started by spl440, Jul 29, 2019.

  1. 7mopar

    7moparWell-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    812
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Kingsville, MO
    I can at least access Mitchell at the library. Now to find time to get there. I can e-mail to myself and avoid printing fees.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • MoparsOnly

      MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

      Messages:
      189
      Likes Received:
      43
      Joined:
      Sep 24, 2015
      Location:
      South Carolina
      No need I got AllData up and running last night. The file I downloaded was the last edition before they went fully online only. I have every disc It came with, all 16 repair disc's, 3 service advisor disc's and, 1 estimator disc. It's not hard to get it working once you have the right programs working and know where to look for certain work arounds. Anyways here are 3 diagrams that could be used.

      Diagram 1.jpeg

      Wiring 2.jpeg

      Wiring 3.jpeg
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • MoparsOnly

        MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

        Messages:
        189
        Likes Received:
        43
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2015
        Location:
        South Carolina
        If you want more let me know. Some of the Haynes manual stuff Is the same as to what I have Is spot on since, I have It basically the same diagrams.
         
      • spl440

        spl440Member

        Messages:
        13
        Likes Received:
        5
        Joined:
        Aug 1, 2015
        Thanks, it is a good start. Possible to get the connector diagram for the main harness to firewall?
         
      • MoparsOnly

        MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

        Messages:
        189
        Likes Received:
        43
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2015
        Location:
        South Carolina
        You want the engine harness?
         
      • spl440

        spl440Member

        Messages:
        13
        Likes Received:
        5
        Joined:
        Aug 1, 2015
        Yes if possible. pulling EFI and going carb and dist.
         
      • MoparsOnly

        MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

        Messages:
        189
        Likes Received:
        43
        Joined:
        Sep 24, 2015
        Location:
        South Carolina
        BAM!!! hows this. I'm doing the same thing to 90 w150 burns way rich at idle tailpipes have so much carbon in them. Just got it about a month. So far as I have discovered I'm the 5th or 6th owner and, she's been riden hard and put up wet. Fuel system/emissions all hacked up, dash all cracked nothing stays were It suppose to which, I just replaced. One thing I do like Is the dash harness Is not all hacked up. One ex-owner must have pulled the entire air injection system out hence the super rich idle problem and I ain't finding those parts. From what I have read about this FI system Is, every part works together as a whole and, If you take something away or try and upgrade It, It won't like It. Everything has to be perfect for It to work properly. This swap Is going to take a bit since everything runs thru the SEMC. I'll keep you posted and you keep me posted. Need anything else holla.

        Bulk Head.jpeg
         
        • Like Like x 2
        • MoparsOnly

          MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

          Messages:
          189
          Likes Received:
          43
          Joined:
          Sep 24, 2015
          Location:
          South Carolina
          I made It bigger and better resolution

          Bulk Head.jpeg
           
          • Like Like x 2
          • MoparsOnly

            MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

            Messages:
            189
            Likes Received:
            43
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2015
            Location:
            South Carolina
            Have an Idea. Since I know that the TPS Is a big player with the OD who says that we can't piggy back off of It. That way all you need Is the electric switch that PATC uses In there kit. That way all that would need to be done Is removing all emissions and somehow getting the dizzy and, msd box working. Me, I'm dropping the tank and removing the pump to go with a external pump easier as well as, more serviceable. I'll just rig up some kind of strainer on the end of the pick up tube.
             
          • spl440

            spl440Member

            Messages:
            13
            Likes Received:
            5
            Joined:
            Aug 1, 2015
            Thanks for the pin out diagram. I will still be using the electric pump to a regulator, then into the fuel filter that has the small 1/4 hose fitting and the small hole orifice built into the return.
             
          • 7mopar

            7moparWell-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,748
            Likes Received:
            812
            Joined:
            Dec 21, 2013
            Location:
            Kingsville, MO
            Dodge mini van fuel filters are good for that on preinjected engines. I will also be checking my tub of injection parts to see if the air pump is there. I just don't remember there being one on the 89 engine. But it was extracted form a 350 vans if it makes a difference.
             
          • MoparsOnly

            MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

            Messages:
            189
            Likes Received:
            43
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2015
            Location:
            South Carolina
            I think they were all the same but don't quote me on it. By any chance does anyone know If you can swap a electric speedo for a mechanical one. The more I dive In to this truck the more electrical problems I'm finding. It's really starting to get disheartening. I mean I really don't want to do a whole re-wire job. I have a 21 circuit universal harness from sumitt that I've had laying around for a while. It's just that I'm working outside and It Is not fun when you have absolutely no shade from the sun down here In S.C. It's been 100+ heat index for the past 2+ weeks. I can usually get started by 8-830 and knock off at 1-2 before the real skin melting heat gets going.
             
          • 7mopar

            7moparWell-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,748
            Likes Received:
            812
            Joined:
            Dec 21, 2013
            Location:
            Kingsville, MO
            The v6 93 Dakota still used a cable driven speedo and 500 trans. Might be worth looking into. As far as the speedo in the dash the whole unit is not that hard of a swap as nothing changed with the dash frames.
             
          • MoparsOnly

            MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

            Messages:
            189
            Likes Received:
            43
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2015
            Location:
            South Carolina
            I was wondering If I could just take out the speed sensor and swap in a regular cable and be done with it. I have a gauge cluster with a cable speedo in it from another truck.
             
          • 7mopar

            7moparWell-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,748
            Likes Received:
            812
            Joined:
            Dec 21, 2013
            Location:
            Kingsville, MO
            Give it a try but will the gauges still work in the original dash once the computer is gone?
             
          • 1SykRyd

            1SykRydMember

            Messages:
            17
            Likes Received:
            4
            Joined:
            Aug 16, 2019
            Location:
            Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
            Do AllData wiring diagrams go back to 1987? I have a 360/AT W150 that I'm doing a ground up resto-rat-mod on. I need a clean layout of the entire electrical system. I have several ghosts to figure out (never did much care for Chrysler's fuse links).
             
          • MoparsOnly

            MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

            Messages:
            189
            Likes Received:
            43
            Joined:
            Sep 24, 2015
            Location:
            South Carolina
            The gauges will work except for the speedometer. The one other thing Is the OD. I have the A518 with a non lock-up converter. So all I think I might need Is to wire a switch to ground and be done for the OD to work. Am I thinking right on that or not.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • 7mopar

              7moparWell-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,748
              Likes Received:
              812
              Joined:
              Dec 21, 2013
              Location:
              Kingsville, MO
              I can not answer that one. I do not see a manual od switch in the wiring diagram.
               
            • Rusty Junk

              Rusty JunkActive Member

              Messages:
              68
              Likes Received:
              60
              Joined:
              Jul 28, 2019
              Location:
              North central Iowa
              The speed sensor between the speedometer cable and transmission input is for the cruze control..........unplug it the cruze control won't work but everything else will.
               
            • MoparsOnly

              MoparsOnlyThe snozberries taste like snozberries.

              Messages:
              189
              Likes Received:
              43
              Joined:
              Sep 24, 2015
              Location:
              South Carolina
              I know the system my 87 D150 has It. This doesn't. The cruise Is controlled thru the sbec and vacuum. I just did talk to the tech. dept. over at PATC and he told me that the early A518's speed sensor worked with a spline just like a speedo does and, all I have to find out Is hole size. I have a gauge cluster with a cable drive so all Is good. Now I just have to workout the OD.:praying:
               
            1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
              Dismiss Notice