• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

"Secret" to clearing up rusty coolant???

YY1

Reaction score
I've been battling a sludgy, rusty coolant issue for over two years.

I'm on my third water pump.

Last year I put in a radiator, and now I'm starting to loose freeze plugs.

I've flushed the system six times in two years, once with Prestone flush and twice with Peak flush.

Last time I power flushed the heater core with a pressure washer for over 45 minutes (both ways), and thought sure that was the end.

Not so.

I've heard this is a somewhat common issue for these trucks.

What are youse guys doing do keep it at bay?

Truck is a 2000 R/T with 5.9.

Also- There's no oil in the water, or water in the oil.

I've had a couple of mag motors and haven't had that problem "yet" . It sounds like your doing everything right . I'm not sure what to tell yah ? I assume your running anti freeze in it after you've flushed it ?