• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

Introducing FTO's Newest Member: Nate

Nate

Reaction score
Hello All,
I recently found this forum while searching for some place that represents all brands and experiences. I'm writing for advice on my next truck. First a little back ground. I was raised around diesel trucks ( except that one year my dad had the V10 triton ...) and Ive been driving trucks for the last ten years or so. My only personal experience with diesel owning, maintaining, and modifying was for 3 years I owned an older Volkswagen Jetta TDI. Currently I'm driving a 2000 Toyota Tundra and its a truck I very much love. Its light and capable off road and for its size its just a capable as most modern 1/2 ton trucks. Yes the new trucks can tow 11 or 12 thousand pounds but 99% of trucks are not optioned out that way. For just a guy and a girl its perfect but now with two kids in car seats that small back seat just aint cutting it. Also me being the second owner and knowing the first since it was new I happen to know this 18 year old truck with over 300k hasn't had any work needed except regular maintenance; brakes and fluid. I'm sure I could never be that lucky again but that is the most important factor in my next vehicle.
Things I need in a truck are Extreme reliability and or ease of repair/ maintenance, 4x4, full crew cab and a little more towing capability than I have currently.
With a new truck we would also like to purchase a travel trailer and don't want to be pigeon holed into the tiny ones, though I definitely don't need a humongous 5th wheel.
Budget is most definitely a concern as well and I would need payments to be about 300-350 max.
Some trucks that have peaked my interest within these parameters are:
7.3 Powerstroke Superdutys
Early to mid 2000s Chevy Gas and Diesel
and the 2011 and up F-150s