• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

Emission testing in California

Kern Dog

Reaction score
Yesterday I took the 2007 Ram in for the emission testing that is due every 2 years. It failed.
Why? It had no open codes. No MILs....the MIL is Mopar speak for Malfunction Indicator Light. Most people have adopted the Chevrolet term...."Check engine" light since that started with Chevrolets in the 80s.
Anyway....No codes, no MILs, no smoke and it runs as smooth as new even with 399,000 miles on it so why did it fail?
The engine inside is stock. I've done maintenance including fuel injectors, a few coil packs, EGR valve, spark plugs and such. It runs great.
I have a Flowmaster muffler and dual tailpipes but that is "cat-back" and not subject to any restrictions.
I also have an approved K & N cold air intake tube and conical air filter. Apparently the EO (Exemption Order) certification number expired and hasn't been renewed by K & N. In short, the truck runs the same as it did 2 years ago when it passed the test but now that the EO number is expired, it was a failure.
I had 2 choices....either I could contact K & N to see about an updated EO sticker to affix to the intake tube OR put the stock air box and filter back on.
I did save the stock stuff just in case I needed it. It went back on in about 15 minutes and when I went back, the truck passed the test as usual.
Frigging government....

Illinois is bad enough regarding government interference and ineptness. I couldn't handle California.