• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

Best Truck for Camper Truck?

Michealbraunstein

Reaction score
“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” – Helen Keller All my dream is about travelling and to do adventure getting it to really do take time. After saving all the cents I have I finally decided to hit the road. In the first couple of months, I did travel in my car and stay in the hostels but moving on, I did find some difficulties like unhygienic hostels and expenses are more as well. After some research and some suggestion, I did come up with the idea of the camper truck. As I am new to the thing I am not much aware of the best camper models and stuff. Can you people suggest me a good model and anything between $20,000-$30,000 is affordable? What about the camper tie down which one is better torklift or happijack? Any tips for the newbie should be aware of camper tuck. Please do advice?

A 3/4 ton is better than a 1/2 ton, a dually I think would be overkill. I think it comes down to your brand preference. I like the Chevy/GMC with the 6.0 and the Dodge/Ram with the Hemi. Diesel's are awesome for power, but they cost more for maintenance and repairs can be much more. The fuel is more expensive and a 11 or 12 model will also need DEF. The Ford with a 5.4 3valve is ok, same for the 6.8 v10 3valve, but they have/need to be well maintained or you can have timing chain issues, oil pressure issues and may even need a engine to solve the problem.

Any idea what the camper will be? The truck choice will affect or limit the camper choice.