• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

64 C-10 questions

Big Jim

Reaction score
Site newbie here, just starting frame-up restoration of my best friend's 64 long bed. Going to be a daily driver, so my first concern is safety. IIRC, the front disc and power steering set-up from a 72 is a bolt in. Just need info from one of you that have done it if I can use MC/booster/prop valve/linkage from the donor truck so it stops right. Any suggestions for F/R swaybars? Thanks in advance for any info, really looking forward to bringing this old truck back to life!

Jim welcome to the site, I`m a newbie here as well but not to 60`s chevy trucks, you can use `67 to `86 chevy entire front cross members complete, just need to drill two new holes for the exisiting bolts in the donor truck, grab everything, power steering, column, master, booster. You`ll need to order the front frame plate to reinforce the left frame horn under the steering box from LMC, Chevy Duty, CPP, The front sway bar anything and including a one ton chevy will bolt up to your truck, for most the latter is sought after, just grab the links and mounts, replace the rubber and your done. You`ll need to build an adapter plate to position the booster in the right place so you wouldn`t have to drill new holes,( as shows in pic) and lengthen or shorten your brake pedal rod as needed to get full pedal travel ito brake cylinder. good luck
attachment.php.jpg

Last edited:
attachment.jpg