• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

Hello from Napa! Help with my charging system.

Stepgirl38

Reaction score
Hello. I’m new here, and looking for some help with my 1991 Dodge D250. I’ve read lots of threads, but I’m not sure EXACTLY what my problem is, so don’t know what I should be looking for. Also, please be gentle with me. I’m not a mechanic like all of you. Just trying to trouble shoot before I have to take my truck to a shop.
My truck had a new alternator installed in 2017. A cheap one. Truck ran fine until a week ago. It progressively had trouble starting, and then just wouldn’t start. I had a jump to get home. Determined the alternator wasn’t charging, so I replaced the alternator AND the battery (which was about 10 years old), and the alternator STILL isn’t charging the battery.
We checked that the positive post of the new alternator shows battery voltage when the key is off, so the positive connection between the alternator and battery is good. That’s where I’m at.
Voltage regulator, fusible link, etc etc is confusing, and I’m hoping someone can give me an idea where to start. Thank you so much for any help.

Is this gas or diesel?
Gas engine had the regulator in the computer that year, diesel models still had the same regulator like dodges of the 70s had. For the ones regulated via the computer that was a particularly bad year for computers going bad especially the part within that controlled what you are having trouble with.

It’s a 5.9 Cummins diesel. So I should be looking at the voltage regulator first? Is this it?

0BEEA06F-E543-4507-A6C8-B733C72D085A.jpeg

Last edited:
Google Mopar alternator full field test, this should help you test the alternator on the truck