• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

1945 flathead to slant 6?

bm167

Reaction score
I'm wondering if anyone has installed a slant 6 in a Dodge truck around the 1945 era.
I assume all the engine and drive train mounts would have to be fabricated.
The reason I plan on using a slant 6 with manual transmission, is to reduce the chance of adding to much stress and twisting the original frame. I plan on leaving the truck in as is condition,but replacing the flathead with a better and a little more powerful engine.
Any info or ideas would be appreicated. As you have guessed, this is my first project with a vintage vehicle. I'd like to rat rod the truck a little but without all the extensive modifcations and work. Thanks

Here is a bump for ya. It don't look like anyone has done the swap. So I guess you will be breaking new ground. Wish I had a truck like that to try it myself. Good luck.

It is not a popular swap for several reasons. The /6 consumes alot of space both in width and length. If your original 230 is dead then consider installing a 25" six from a Chrysler or DeSoto like a 251 or 265. As you might guess the bigger six is 2" longer than your 230 but in most applications moving the radiator forward is pretty straight forward.
Additionally, installing an A or LA is also pretty easy but then, as with the /6, you will be changing the trans and rear axle to accomodate.
Some of the swap details are covered in my web site:
www.qualityengineeredcomponents.com

I tried to post a response yesterday but it did not 'magically' appear, so this could be a double...

Don't worry about the frame, it is plenty tough.
You might re-think the /6; it consumes alot of space both length and width. If the 230 is dead and a rebuild is not in order then go directly to a 318-360 v-8. The /6 simply doesn't have that much more power for all of the work involved.