• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

What's the best pick for my first welder?

K-Note72

Reaction score
Like the title says, I'm new to welding and gonna need to get A LOT of practice in before I do any autobody work, so I'll be looking for a welder soon. I did a little research, and got the impression that:
  • MIG and TIG are the most widely used, but TIG is supposed to be more difficult
  • MIG boils down to gas and gasless(flux-core wire) systems
  • Gas MIG is the go-to for doing sheet metal and autobody, and flux-core just burns right thru or warps the metal
  • Flux core works better in outdoors or windy environments, on jobs that don't involve thin metal
The problem with the gas systems is they're so spendy. Does anybody know of a decent gas MIG that isn't gonna cost me more than my car?

If you have never welded you are going to want a MIG, MIG you can weld thinner steel than flux core. I just read that MIG will do down to 24 gauge sheet metal, flux core only 20 gauge sheet metal. You still have to watch your amperage with either or you can warp or burn through thin metal. Wire diameter matters also as far as thickness of material to be welded. MIG is so easy to learn, just get some scrap and practice.

If I weren't limited to 120v I'd have a lot more options to choose from. We don't have any 240 hookups here. A few guys from another forum suggested an eastwood 135, since it's an inexpensive unit that's gas, can run 120 and has good reviews, it's my frontrunner option so far (plus it comes with regulator & hose)

Will not take long to discover more than one will be needed. Welding plate and sheet metal with the same welder can be done but will not be purchased at HF and will not come cheap?

Will not take long to discover more than one will be needed. Welding plate and sheet metal with the same welder can be done but will not be purchased at HF and will not come cheap?