• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

Pinion bearing preload and gear mesh

Littlered89

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I got another question. This is my first time rebuilding a diff.

1989 d100 8.25

I am replacing everything (gears, crush sleeves, bearings, and seals)

I looked in the Haynes manual but its not very clear and I have looked online and none of it makes a lot of sense to me.

I am wondering the correct way to set the pinion preload and how exactly it is supposed to be torqued.

Also the backlash in the ring gear (.007-.010) is what I have heard, not sure if that's correct or not.

One more, the torque on the carrier bearings, I've heard 70ft/lbs with the position of it in the correct place.

Just incase.. I got 3.55 gear set and I'm not building a hotrod. Maybe a little power later but daily driver for now.

If there is a link to the correct way please post that and I really appreciate all the help you all have given me so far.

There should be something on the net about it. That kind of info is for just about everything else. If this is your first time, it's a good idea to have someone 'guide' you though so you don't make any expensive mistakes. Also, it makes things a lot easier if you have 'trial' bearings to get your settings before installing the permanent bearings. If you have to pull one off, you usually ruin it unless you have the proper pullers etc. And I'm not sure about 70ft/lbs with the position of it in the correct place means? With adjustable rears like an 8 3/4, I snug them up pretty good but don't have a way to check how much 'preload' they have like you can check on a pinion bearing preload.

I just mean if the carrier is correct side to side so the mesh is right and the bearings should be torqued to 70. I don't know. I do have a Chilton manual on the way I hope that will help. Not sure if I have a trial bearing but I do have 2 crush sleeves.