• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

first dodge...72D100

dreaded rust

Reaction score
20150913_092720.jpg
20150914_194323.jpg
20150914_194521.jpg

Hey, newbie here. First post.

Just picked up a 72 Dodge D100. Got it for a steal. Not too familiar with these old trucks but so far I'm loving it; it was a bit of an impulse buy based on the price. Has the 318 and a 4 speed manual. 8 3/4 rear end. Seems to run pretty well. Leaky valve covers and a vacuum hiss when I'm pushing the brake down (stops fine btw.)

Future plans aside from the obvious brake issue and fixing a couple gauges and little stuff like that:

Ditch those mirrors in favor of something a bit more low key (first priority according to SWMBO)

Little rust repair and a flat black paint job.

A friend of mine has a holley carburetor...says it's about 400-500 cfm. He's not too sure. But it's free

Another friend of mine has a set of heads off a 360 that he's hooking me up with. He said it'd be a good swap. Seems though by much of what I'm reading that's going to drop my compression a bit more than desired.

get rid of the old school points. I was thinking this - http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS-Performance-Products/555/40500K/10002/-1

Simple dual exhaust set up

Thoughts?

Sounds like the price was right, and the truck looks in fairly good shape. Well done and thanks for joining FTO.
That electronic conversion kit looks fine, as long as you know how to do the swap-out. You might some good money for those big mirrors if you pitch them at the Van brigade. :)