• Welcome to For Trucks Only !

We are a community of American Brand Pickup Truck and SUV owners. Join now! Its Free!

1972 D300 Front Drum Brake Questions

Mealticket

Reaction score
Hi all - I'm a newbie here. I'm trying to get a wheel unstuck on a '72 Travel Queen motorhome which I'm told is on a Dodge D300 chassis. It's drum brakes and there are not just big lug nuts but a huge nut smack in the middle that also appears to secure the wheel. It's over 2" so I don't currently have a socket to take it off. Please advise if anybody knows what size that might be. Thanks,

MT

Last edited:
Picture please. Motor home were titled per the years of the home body. The chassis and driveline could be of any year before that. Our 78 Excel is on a 76 Dodge Camper Special chassis. This will even be harder to narrow down if the Travel Queen is a class A coach. But I am assuming it has a self-locking nut. If not just flatten or remove the pin and with a hammer and chesil tap lose the nut. It should not be on that tight.

7mopar - please see attached. Of course it doesn't hold the wheel on - brain freeze by me on that one. But I'm not sure what it does hold on. It think it's either 2 1/8 or 2 1/4. I have some old repair books but I don't know the system, ie, Bendix, whatever. Any help is appreciated,

MT

Attachments

• 20220429_130058.jpg
    20220429_130058.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 101
  • Front Wheel.jpg
    Front Wheel.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 98
Looks like a dust cover to me. Should just pry out of the hole. The nut that holds the hub to the spindle will be under it. Check and make sure it's tin before prying on it. I have not seen a treaded dust cap on one of these yet. But beings it recessed way in there maybe Dodge felt it better to spin it out. But it sure is not what holds the hub on.

To have any chance to get this thing off I think I will need a puller.

MT

Attachments

• 20220902_113052.jpg
    20220902_113052.jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 101